Creating the Tarot

I decided that since I can’t find a tarot deck that calls to me, I’m going to make my own. Obviously, this is going to be a long term project. I’ve already made some of the most basic decisions, like paper, and style. I’ve also decided that I’m going to go a bit non-traditional with the suits. 

I’m doing “spears” for swords. And it will probably be the first set I do. In fact, I’ve already got the Ace done (at least the reference drawing for it.

Wands well become arrows, coins will be bowls, and cups will stay the same. 

The major arcana will be my challenge, as that is what turns me off many decks. I’m not sure I want to stay with traditional imagery, or craft my own.

Leave a Reply

