Eclectic

ec·lec·tic

/əˈklektik/

adjective

  • 1.deriving ideas, style, or taste from a broad and diverse range of sources:“her musical tastes are eclectic”synonyms:wide-ranging, broad-based, extensive, comprehensive, encyclopedic, more
  • 2.of, denoting, or belonging to a class of ancient philosophers who did not belong to or found any recognized school of thought but selected such doctrines as they wished from various schools.

So official definition established, what does this mean in relation to witchcraft/paganism? Well, in general, it means that an individual doesn’t adhere to a singular “path”.  They borrow from many different ideas and systems to form their own unique system. Many will establish a “set” of deities that they work well with, even if they don’t all come from the same pantheon.

For instance, I routinely work with Hekate and Morrigan. I’ve also called on Inanna. I have petitioned Loki, and left offerings for Apollo. I’ve danced for White Buffalo Woman,  and sang for Lyr. I’ve cast within a circle, and on the fly. I believe in reincarnation, but not in Karma (as Western culture views it, but that’s another post).

I’m an American Mutt, my heritage is somewhat scattered so I need to be aware of my sources as well. While it’s perfectly okay to borrow, I have to acknowledge the cultures the beliefs come from. Dream Catchers  are lovely, but I respect that they are a gift from Grandmother Spider. Mistletoe and Holly are beautiful to strew through the house at Yule, but should be recognized as sacred to both the Druids and ancient Norse.

Leave a Reply

