Balance

As I sit here typing, toddler asleep on my shoulder I’m trying to plan how to celebrate the Vernal Equinox. Three days to contemplate balance and the re-emergence of active life. The birds are going to town in my back yard courtesy of the seed I left out for them. My poor dog is displaying great anxiety over her inability to drive off said birds from inside the house.

Right now my greatest challenge is that of most mothers I know. How to find the balance between caring for my children/family, and caring for my self. Too often the ‘self’ gets forgotten, left behind, abandoned. I need to learn who I am all over again.

Traditionally, the Vernal Equinox is a time of renewal and fresh beginnings, and I feel that I really am in a new phase of my life. I have a job that I mostly enjoy, and a boss who respects the fact that I have a life outside of my job. My older children are old enough that it’s time to shift some of the responsibility for own their care onto them. It’s time to take care of myself for a bit. I’m going to start running again. Maybe take a class. I don’t really know yet, but I’ll figure it out.

Leave a Reply

